IB Assessment

  • What is the IB Middle Years Programme?

    The MYP is designed for students aged 11-16. It provides a framework of learning that encourages students to become creative, critical and reflective thinkers. The MYP emphasizes intellectual challenge, encouraging students to make connections between their studies in traditional subjects and the real world. The MYP fosters the development of skills for communication, intercultural understandings and global engagement – essential qualities for young people who are become global leaders.

    What does assessment in the MYP look like?

    The MYP curriculum framework comprises eight subject groups, providing a broad and balanced education for early adolescents. As an IB World School offering the MYP, Hutch implements the MYP Year 1-3 model:

    Year 1 = 6th grade

    Year 2 = 7th grade

    Year 3 = 8th grade

    Students at Hutch are required each year to take Language and Literature (ELAR), Individuals and Societies (Social Studies), Math, Science, Language Acquisitions (Spanish), PE/Athletics, Arts, and a Design course.  

    To measure what students have learned and to monitor their progress, IB teachers use a range of assessment strategies including formative assessments that provide ongoing feedback that can be used by instructors to develop their teaching and by students to identify their strengths and weaknesses, and target areas that need improvement. Teachers use criterion based summative assessments to measure learning outcomes.

    Hutch uses rubrics to assess student learning.  A rubric is an instructional document or tool that describes varying levels of quality for a specific assessment task (project).  A summative assessment is generally a long-term project that students have to apply the skills learned to a real worlds scenario.  Students are assessed in TODDLE by using the International Baccalaureate criterion based rubric.  Click on Criterion Based Rubrics on the left to see examples from each content area.