•  Student Testing



    • The State student assessment program is designed to measure the extent to which a student has learned and is able to apply the defined knowledge and skills at each tested grade or course level.



  • The State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) program, which was implemented in spring 2012, includes annual assessments for:

    • Reading:  grades 3-8
    • Math:  grades 3–8
    • Writing:  grades 4 and 7
    • Science:  grades 5 and 8
    • Social Studies:  grade 8
    • End-of-Course (EOC) assessments:  English I, English II, Algebra I, Biology and U.S History.

     For more information:
    TEA: STAAR Resources


  • TEA developed the STAAR Alternate 2 to meet the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) federal education law previously known as No Child Left Behind.  The STAAR Alternate 2 assesses students in grades 3-8 and high school who have significant cognitive disabililties and are receiving special education services.

    For more information:
    TEA:  STAAR Alternate 2 Resources


  • The Texas English Language Proficiency Assessment System (TELPAS) assesses the progress that limited English proficient (LEP) students make in learning the English language.

     For more information:
    TEA: TELPAS Resources