Return to Headlines

Former Lubbock ISD Superintendent Dr. E.C. Leslie Dies at Age 88

Friday, September 13, 2019
Contact: Erin Gregg, 806-219-0014 / 806-928-5824


Dr. E.C. Leslie, a longtime educator, and former Lubbock ISD superintendent passed away on Friday at the age of 88. 

Dr. Leslie served Lubbock ISD for more than 30 years. He began his career in 1957 as an American History teacher and baseball coach at Lubbock High School. In 1961 he became the counselor at Lubbock High and later served as the school’s assistant principal and principal. After serving as the principal at Lubbock High for four years, Dr. Leslie became the assistant superintendent for Lubbock ISD. In 1984, he was named superintendent and he served in that role until his retirement in 1989.

Prior to his career in Lubbock ISD, Leslie signed a contract with the Pittsburgh Pirates at the age of 19 and played on their minor league team for two years. He left baseball in 1952 to serve in the U.S. Army during the Korean War. He returned to baseball after the way and played for two additional years in the minor leagues. It was during his time with the Lubbock Hubbers that Leslie decided to make Lubbock his home.

Earlier this year, Dr. Leslie was recognized for his service to Lubbock ISD when the Lubbock High School Westerner baseball field was named in his honor. The video presentation created for the event can be viewed below.

Memorial service information.


E.C. Leslie Video from Lubbock ISD on Vimeo.

Photo 1, from left to right: Former Lubbock ISD Superintendent Wayne Havens, former Lubbock ISD administrator Gib Weaver, Dr. Tim Leslie, Dr. E.C. Leslie, Dr. Bill Dean, former Lubbock ISD trustee and State Board of Education member Monte Hasie, former Lubbock ISD Athletic Director Pete Ragus, Lubbock High School Principal Doug Young, Lubbock ISD Athletic Director Mike Meeks, and Lubbock ISD Superintendent Dr. Kathy Rollo.

Photo 2, from left to right (Board of Trustees): Secretary Scot Mayfield, Ben Webb, Vice President Bill Stubblefield, Dr. E.C. Leslie, President Zach Brady, Lala Chavez, Beth Bridges, Ryan Curry, and Dr. Kathy Rollo

Photo 3: Dr. Kathy Rollo and Dr. E.C. Leslie

Photo 1 Photo 2 Photo 3