Return to Headlines

Board of Trustees recognition honors students and staff

At last week’s Board of Trustees meeting, the trustees recognized the annual Holiday Card Art Contest Winners and Smith Elementary School third-grade teacher Meagan Dowgar for her designation as the 2022 Texas Outstanding Elementary Social Studies Teacher of the Year.

The Holiday Card Art Contest winners are Falon Lackey, Honey Elementary School; Alba Amaro, Wolffarth Elementary School; Kinzie Hagood, McCool Academy; Leona Betteridge, Talkington SYWL; Anne Chagoya, Lubbock High School; Makennah Gatica, Byron Martin ATC. Now in its 14th year, designs for the district holiday cards were created by Lubbock ISD art students and submitted for the contest. Beginning in 2019, the Fine Arts department began alternating feeder pattern participation due to the high number of annual submissions and to provide more opportunity for student recognition. This year, campuses in the Coronado and Lubbock high school feeder patterns participated, along with the Byron Martin Advanced Technology Center,  McCool Academy, and the Talkington School for Young Women Leaders, with more than 150 entries received. Two winners were chosen from each category: elementary school, middle school, and high school by a panel of judges comprised of art professionals and employees. These six designs are reproduced into holiday cards which are sent by the superintendent and Board of Trustees to community partners and vendors.

Dowgar is one of six statewide award recipients that was honored at Texas Council for the Social Studies in Denton in October. The Outstanding Social Studies Teacher of the Year awards are given in recognition of active participation in local, state, and national social studies councils and outstanding social studies teaching in Texas and are presented annually. The process begins with a local nomination, and award candidates are vetted through a state committee that reviews original lesson plans, resume credentials, and experience and contributions to social studies education. Dowgar advances to the national contest to contend for the National Outstanding Elementary Social Studies Teacher of the Year, awarded by the National Council for the Social Studies.