Return to Headlines

Three Lubbock ISD Teachers Receive Newton Awards

Three Lubbock ISD teachers were announced last week as winners of the Frank and Nancy Newton Excellence in Education Award by the Beaumont Foundation.

The awardees are Amy Drake from Evans Middle School, Melissa Funk from Waters Elementary School and Josh Shaw from Coronado High School. Each recipient will be honored at an awards gala in May where they will receive a crystal obelisk, professional portrait and $10,000.

As part of the Beaumont Foundation’s ongoing commitment to supporting education, the Frank and Nancy Newton Excellence in Education Award was created to celebrate and recognize superior contributions of teachers whose leadership and dedication inspire a spirit of learning in students of all backgrounds and learning abilities. The program also strives to provide public recognition and financial incentives to teachers who are furthering excellence in their profession. A total of six teachers in Lubbock County are selected annually to receive the Newton Award, with three of the six from Lubbock ISD.

The award is named after Frank and Nancy Newton. Frank Newton served as dean and professor at the Texas Tech University School of Law from 1985 – 2002, when he became president and chief executive officer of the Beaumont Foundation.

Pictured from left to right: Amy Drake, Melissa Funk and Josh Shaw.

Beaumont Winners